This piece is scored for four Conga or Darabuka drums of varying size and should be performed by four players. It is a study of the timbral characteristics of drums and is based on an interplay between the performers. Although 4Drums can be performed in its acoustic version, it may also use a specially designed sound spatialization system. This software, written in Max/MSP, directs the sound of the drums to the four corners of the concert hall and then starts to move them in spinning circles with various speeds as the piece progresses.
Krzysztof Wolek

First Performance:
November 20, 2007, DeKalb, US
NIU Percussion Ensemble
Congas: Maggie Bergren, Juan Pastor,
Jamie Apperson, Krissy Bergmark
director: Greg Beyer
Boutell Concert Hall
Northern Illinois University